Carroll County Public Library
Board of Trustees Meeting
Headquarters
July 23, 2018
Minutes

### 1. Roll Call and Declaration of Quorum

Ms. Campanella called the meeting to order at 12:16 p.m. and declared there was a quorum present.

Present:

Bill Bates Kathleen Campanella Leza Griffith Joyce Muller

David Peloquin Cynthia Piazza (by phone) Karen Soisson

Staff Present:

Nadine Rosendale Terri Simmons Muffie Smith Stephanie Szymanski

Lynn Wheeler

### 2. Cooperative Borrowing/ILL Agreement

Ms. Wheeler asked the Board to reaffirm the Maryland Cooperative Borrowing Agreement and the Resource Sharing Interlibrary Loan Agreement. The borrowing agreement was signed by the Board in June but there was a change to the language, it now reads that library materials owned by one library system and returned to another will be cleared of all fines when they reach the owning library.

Ms. Soisson moved to accept the Maryland Cooperative Borrowing Agreement. Ms. Muller seconded. Approval was unanimous.

The Resource Sharing Agreement is the formal InterLibrary Loan (ILL) agreement, in addition to being able to go to anywhere in the state to borrow materials any library system customer can borrow materials through the ILL agreement. The agreement was last approved by our Board in 2010. Changes in the agreement are based on new technology. Any fees collected for lost items are retained by the borrowing system. Returned materials that are returned in condition that warrants immediate disposal will not be returned to the lending system. There is no longer a chart of material that individual systems won't loan, that is built into the Marina system. Although all ILL technicians in the State will work to attain materials when possible.

Ms. Muller moved to approve the Resource Sharing ILL Agreement. Mr. Bates seconded. Approval was unanimous.

Ms. Wheeler left the meeting at 12:27 p.m.

#### 3. Close Session to Discuss a Personnel Matter

# Ms. Griffith moved to close the meeting to discuss a personnel matter. Ms. Muller seconded. Approval was unanimous.

The Meeting closed at 12:28 p.m.

Staff Present for Closed Session:

Nadine Rosendale Terri Simmons Muffie Smith Stephanie Szymanski

Ms. Szymanski left the meeting at 12:29 p.m.

## **Open Session**

The meeting re-opened at 2:44 p.m.

## 4. Adjournment

Ms. Griffith moved to adjourn the meeting. Ms. Muller seconded. Approval was unanimous.

The meeting adjourned at 2:45 p.m.

Kathleen Campanella President